Some cars are just made manly

Mostly, I believe cars and SUVs to be pretty gender neutral. It really all depends on how the owner of the car drives the vehicle, what colour they choose and if they throw on accessories (mags, skirts, giant fuzzy dice, etc.). While some cars are ostentatiously feminine (VW Beetle, the new version), generally they work for both men and women.

And then there’s the Jeep Wrangler Rubicon.

It’s sitting in my driveway this week and only I’ve driven it so far. And I’ve got to say, it’s so manly I feel like I shouldn’t be driving it at times. It’s loud, brash, in-your-face, big, and it’s made solely to do a job; go off-road anywhere.

There’s something about this vehicle that just screams testosterone. Even though the interior has been decidedly “sophisticated” compared to previous models, it still feels raw and untamed.

I commend Jeep for sticking to its roots with the Wrangler. This vehicle has always been synonymous with outdoor adventure, off-road trips and everything to do with nature and getting out into the great wild world. And despite a redesign and a new interior, the Jeep Wranger is still all about that.

The doors are so light they don’t stay open properly; highly annoying at first, until you remember they’re that way because they can be easily removed for uber cruising in the summer.

The tires make the steering feel heavy and a bit disconnected, until you remember how thick the rubber is to help you trek across any terrain your heart desires.

The engine is loud, almost too loud, until you remember it’s a V6 and it’s so loud because the Wrangler really is all about the bare necessities which means sound dampening wasn’t a top priority.

I feel about the Wrangler the way I did about the FJ Cruiser — I loved it because it served a purpose; and so does the Jeep.

I find it rare when a car is made for specific purpose. Just as Hammond loves Land Rovers because they are made with a purpose (as are Porsche), I love the Wrangler because it’s not trying tp be anything BUT a Wrangler, and why should it?

It’s a manly off-road vehicle through and through — though I would urge Jeep to reconsider the colour name choice. My tester’s colour is listed as “mango.” Hmmm.

Drive on,
– M.

~ by drivingmsmiranda on March 29, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
