MsMiranda’s recent pit stop

Chillin' with the 2012 Beetle in Berlin, Germany

Oh faithful readers, I have returned to you (if only for a brief moment)! I know you’ve all been lying awake at night wondering what horrible fate may have befallen yours truly as I’ve been silent on here for some months, but I’m here to tell you all; fear not! I’m still very much alive and well, and working hard!

Without dragging this out too much, here’s the lowdown on my latest life pit stop (and it’s a big one, let me tell you!):

First off; I’ve finally made the transition to full-time automotive journalism. A few months ago I blogged about career changes and taking that plunge, well I did it. As of May, I have been working full-time for Auto123.com. Because of that, I’ve had very little time to dedicate to anything else and have been channeling all my automotive creative juices into my work there. Thankfully, I have my own blog on Auto123.com that I would love all of you, oh faithful readers, to check out.

Since starting with Auto123.com I’ve been to Las Vegas and Berlin. I’ve driven everything from a Tundra to a Rolls-Royce Phantom Drophead Coupe to the brand new Lexus CT200h (which I’ll have this week). This job, so far, has been everything I’ve wanted to do for years in the auto industry but was never able to do as a freelancer, and I’m thrilled.

So, as you can see, I’ve been hard at work building a career that I’ve worked so hard to achieve. And yet, that’s not the only thing I’ve been working at.

As of December of this year, I’ll have a brand new little backseat driver joining me on all my trips. My husband and I are expecting our first child, a baby boy, and we couldn’t be happier. It’s all a bit overwhelming, shocking, fantastic, scary; you name it, and that’s what it is.

And, of course, everything happened at once (offered the job at Auto123.com and found out I was pregnant all in the same week), so that kind of took precedent over this blog as well.

And so, it is with a heavy heart that I have to tell you all, oh faithful readers, that I’ll be leaving the blogging world for a few months (but you should all be used to my absence by now … that was all a part of my master plan!). I promise I’ll be back after our boy enters the world; I have a feeling I won’t be able to stay away from the writing world for long, even though I know I’ll be a bit busy with him.

And don’t think this blog will suddenly turn baby/mommy/diapers all of a sudden. Ugh, no. It will be as car-related as ever. I mean, come on, this is my son we’re talking about here. He’s just going to add a whole new dynamic to the way I see the automotive world. I’m already making sure he’s going to be dressed the part:

Clearly I’m dragging this post out like a long goodbye … and it kind of feels like that. But I do promise, oh faithful readers, that I’ll be back while I’m on maternity leave. Fear not!

And in the meantime, please feel free to follow my work on Auto123.com — I promise it’s of the same caliber, just on a different site! And as always, you can reach me on here (leave a comment) or via email (miranda.lightstone@gmail.com) with any and all car-related comments or just to say ‘hi’.

Thank you all for your continued support, comments, critiques and fantastic support. I’ll see you all in a few months.

Drive on,
– M.

~ by drivingmsmiranda on July 25, 2011.

One Response to “MsMiranda’s recent pit stop”

  1. Yo Miranda!

    Congrats! Much like my boys, I’m sure your son will follow in your footsteps and become an automotive aficionado of the highest order. And congrats on the new auto journalism gig as well. I’ll be sure to bookmark it and check back often. Good luck on your adventures in parenting. Talk about a wild ride ahead! 😉

    Cheers!
    G-LO

Leave a Reply

 
