Sunshine and shiny cars

Blissfully, the sun has finally arrived in Montreal. Just when we thought it would never come — and truly after a week of solid cold, horrible rain, it seemed like it never would. But it has. Thankfully it has.

All week I’ve been behind the wheel of Infiniti’s latest incarnation of the G37, the IPL (Infiniti Performance Line). It’s a beefier, sportier looking version of the well-known coupe with a much more aggressive front end, sweeping spoiler off the trunk and the traditional growling exhaust note. In it’s deep charcoal paint with a bright red leather interior and dark grey rims, this car was meant to be noticed.

And yet, it wasn’t.

Despite the barking exhaust and clearly sport-bred attitude, it didn’t get so much as a second-look all week. Save for one Infiniti G35 owner who felt the need to tail me for my entire journey home one evening, riding up beside me, then dropping back to watch the back, then sidling up beside me again.

Then the sun arrived and it all changed.

Saturday I spent the day running errands around my neighbourhood and within a few hours I received more than a dozen double takes, three “nice car” comments and a full-on head-snap oh-my-God-what-is-that-coming from a guy walking on the street as I downshifted from 3rd to 2nd.

And it’s not like I got the car cleaned — it was still rain stained and dusty. And yet it was as if I was driving a shiny, brand new car.

I thought about this for a while when I got home. Was it because the weather was nice and we were all finally out of our bad-weather funks and able to see the world around us instead of retreating into our own thoughts in the hopes that it would all go away?

Or was it maybe that because everyone had their windows open that they could hear the barking exhaust note and therefore immediately paid more attention to the Infiniti IPL?

Exhaust note plays a major role in the attraction of a car, or at least it does for me. So I’m more inclined to think that that played a major role in the IPL’s sudden popularity. I was tempted to get the IPL cleaned while I was out, just to see if the attraction would raise tenfold thanks to the shiny paint.

Summer has a strange affect on drivers. Apart from completely changing our driving skills (aggressive anyone?), it also changes how we see one another on the road.

This is especially true for Montreal. We are a car-loving city and when the warmer months arrive, so too do our best and brightest cars. From souped up Civics to one-of-a-kind supercars, they’re all out on the road, and we’re all taking notice.

Perhaps the IPL’s popularity was due to the lack of “nice” cars on the road as of late — that we were all so starved for a sporty vehicle that the IPL was enough to get everyone going.

Either way, I enjoyed the momentary fame in my neighbourhood — and I gotta say, even if I disliked the unsmooth sport shift paddles, the downshift exhaust notes were enough to make me keep using it.

Drive on,
– M.

~ by drivingmsmiranda on May 9, 2011.

3 Responses to “Sunshine and shiny cars”

  1. As always, an interesting and well written post Ms. Miranda. The interior seats are gorgeous and I can’t see why anyone around the block wouldn’t be a little envious of you when taking the G37 for a spin!

  2. Just read your auto123 review of Genesis. You had some huge factual omissions. You didn’t note trim levels on the V6 and you didn’t note that there’s a 4.6 V8 to choose from. How could you leave out an entire engine and trim level? Odd.

  3. Hi Andrew,

    Thanks so much for reading my blog! I appreciate it.

    As for omitting trim levels in the V6, yes, I did as it was a “first impression” review I felt I wanted to focus more on the R-Spec than the lower model.

    And actually, for he 2012 Genesis model, Hyundai is only offering a V8 with a 5.0L. Perhaps this is different in the US, but in Canada there is only one V8, the R-Spec. There are, however, 3 trim levels in the V6 (you’re right). However, they also all have the same engine, just different amenities.

    Hope you’ll still check my work on Auto123.com and again, I appreciate you reading my articles!

    Drive on,
    – M.
    Hope this makes sense!

Leave a Reply

 
