The price at the pumps

Credit: Hakan Dolstrom/Flickr.com

Normally, I try not to get into debates like the price of gas. I am, by no means, politcally knowledgeable, nor do I keep tabs on worldwide affairs as much as I should. So I’d end up sounding like a bit of a twit if I started railing on about the oils in the Middle East and blah, blah, blah.

However, when it dents my wallet the way its been doing so as of late, I feel the need to say something.

Unlike most people, I never know how much I’m going to pay at the pumps from week to week. I say this because unlike most people who can take a guess at the cost because they A) Know the size of their tank and B) Know they’ll drive their vehicle the same amount, I do not know either of these things.

Take this week for example. While I’m ecstatic to be driving an elite Range Rover Sport Supercharged, I am less than pleased at the vehicle’s 20.2L/100km mileage readings and the no-doubt ginormous tank I’m going to have to fill with premium gas on Thursday morning that’s going to cost me a bloody fortune.

I wish I’d had a Ford Fiesta this week.

And next week will be no better. I pick up a Dodge Ram 1500 pickup. And I cringe to think what gas will soar to the moment I drive it off the lot.

In Montreal we are seeing an average gas price of $1.30/litre. That’s ridiculous.

I remember when I had my first car (my “first” car that was actually my parent’s that I borrowed a lot), the Nissan Sentra GXE and I used to get upset if it cost me more than $25 to fill the tank. Yup, those were the days. When gas was in the 0.70-cent range and everything was right with the world.

I don’t have the knowledge or the history to explain how or why the prices are soaring the way they are, but I have a pretty good idea it’s all about the oil companies hitting us up where it hurts. They know they’re in danger of losing money and business with the (slow) rise of electric vehicles and alternative power, and I think they’re just panicking.

And with panic comes response, and as we panic because of their panic, we only make it worse.

Supply and demand, remember?

No matter how many “don’t pump gas on XXX day” emails and Facebook invites I get, I’m still going to put gas in my car. I’m not going to stop driving. I can’t. I live in the middle of nowhere and I need my vehicle. I do not live 5 minutes from work. I cannot bike to my social gatherings, nor can I walk to the grocery store. It’s not going to happen.

And I know I’m not the only one.

So, no matter how much we bitch and complain about the price at the pumps and how much we hate oil companies and their money-grabbing ways, we continue to play into it and so it will never change.

It’s going to take a monstrous effort for prices to drop at the pump. Either that or an all-over crash of everything economic in the world (again, my lack of economic knowledge and world facts is shining brightly through — there’s a reason I write about cars, oh faithful reader).

And that’s why I try not to complain about the price at the pumps. Sure, I’ll be shocked and a little pissed when the prices jump, but I don’t go on and on about it because I’m still going to pay. And that would be a bit hypocritical of me, now wouldn’t it?

Drive on,
– M.

~ by drivingmsmiranda on April 12, 2011.

5 Responses to “The price at the pumps”

  1. Great post Miranda!

    Here in the States (in my area) gas is currently $3.93 a gallon which is right around the national average. It’s gotten to a point where I don’t bother filling my tank up all the way. The great thing about living in NYC is our Mass Transit system. It’s because of that, I’m only required to drive on the weekends. I’m not getting hit as hard as if I went to the pump regularly, but I still feel the prices nonetheless.

    • Hey Jay,

      Thanks for the read!!

      We have a pretty fantastic public transit system here in Montreal too, but it’s not ideal for someone who lives as far away from the downtown core as I do! I’m basically off the island of Montreal, almost on the Ontario border, so I’m a bit far. Hehehe Add to that the fact that my job is driving cars, and well, I guess I’m doomed to dish out the dollars at the pump!!

      Oh, and how much did it actually cost me to fill the Range Rover? That would be $112 with only 30km left in the tank at a $1.47/litre. Fun times!

      Drive on,
      – M.

  2. Ouch Mandy ouch! Do you get reimboursed that gas money or no? I know that I only put in 20 at a tgime but thats becaus eI work from home. So travelling isnt an issue and when it comes to going into the office in Montreal I still take my beloved car, I dislike mass transit because people are rude and smell and give me migraines but gas prices are insane and really need to go back to a more reasonable level. Hell Ill take 1.10 any day over 1.40.

  3. […] gas prices continue to rise and our awareness of the world around us and its diminishing health, it’s normal that the […]

  4. You have to remember that US gasoline taxation in one of the lowest in the world and you are buying gasoline at (literally) imported ‘cost’ price at $3.65 per gallon.

    Here (in Switzerland) which has a relatively low gasoline levy we pay about 1.87chf per litre (does quick conversion to gallons and currency conversion) which is….$7.68 per gallon. If you went to the UK (which has one of the highest fuel duties in the world) you would be paying the equivalent of $8.41 per gallon (cheapest – I have found – is Venezuela at $0.06 per gallon! Advantages of having one of the biggest oil refineries in the world on your doorstep…).

    The problem is is that the oil is running out. The remaining oil is very tricky, dangerous and expensive to get out and the vast majority of the easily accessible stuff is in a very volatile region of the world.

    The solution? Europeans buy smaller or more efficient cars and the US needs to start doing the same. I have a diesel VW that costs $90.00 to fill from empty but because it is an efficient diesel it will do 960km (600 miles) before needing another top up. A friend here as a VW Bluemotion diesel that has the same sized tank but will do over 1200km (745 miles!) (I just did a search for an average US Minivan and worked out that the best range you’re getting is around 350 miles – that’s a doubling of your fuel costs right there).

    So, buy a diesel – sorry for the super long comment!

Leave a Reply

 
