Driving with the elite

I drive my fair share of everyday, normal cars; but every now and then I’m treated to a luxurious, plushy ride that’s definitely part of the vehicular elite.

The 2011 Range Rover Sport Supercharged is definitely part of that group.

All black inside and out, it’s a sleek-looking Land Rover that definitely came from the sporty gene pool at th British automaker. I’ve driven an LR3 and an LR4 and know how heavy and laborious a Land Rover can feel; such is not the case with the Range Rover. And yet it still has plenty of interior space and the off-road capabilities that Land Rovers are known for.

Driving the Range Rover is a bit like driving a Porsche or a Maserati. I get the same kind of looks and jeers. Perhaps because I’m a woman (or not perhaps, but truly because), I get disapproving looks more than anything.

Slap a man behind the wheel, like C, and he’s uber cool for getting such a sporty, fast, sick-looking Range Rover for his family. Stick me behind the wheel and I’m a snotty, pampered housewife who doesn’t work and buys $12 coffees with her chihuahua in her purse while she files her nails on the terrace.

Despite all the prejudice, I absolutely adore this vehicle. If I had an extra $90,000 lying around this beast would be mine. Some might balk at the price tag, but I think it’s wholly warranted. The Range Rover is a well-equipped, well-made (sometimes) vehicle that’s built to last (in some cases).

New Land Rovers and Range Rovers get a bad wrap of always breaking down, being unreliable and generally a pain in the ass. Old-school Discovery Rovers and the such are said to be the way to go. And I’d have to agree, having my fair share of issues ith testers in the past.

And yet, I’d still dish out the dough for a Range Rover to sit in my driveway every night. I absolutely love the way they drive, the ride height, the feeling of the steering wheel, the handling, the power in the throttle, the deep growling exhaust and the ability to take it anywhere.

There’s something prestigious about a Land Rover that really gets me going. Just like a Jaguar does. Maybe it’s my British roots taking over, but I absolutely adore these brands and I can see past all the mechanical blips to the soul of the vehicles.

Or maybe I just like driving an elite vehicle, despite all the stunned looks and jealous jeers. Time to break out my Jackie O sunglasses and really play the part.

Drive on,
– M.

~ by drivingmsmiranda on April 8, 2011.

2 Responses to “Driving with the elite”

  1. Hey, watch Top Gear. They hate the Sport. Try the regular Range Rover. Then try to push it off to the side of the road when it runs out of gas like I did today! Not as bad as I thought it was going to be. 🙂 And I can’t afford a mani-pedi anymore since I spend $100 to fill it up each time. 😦

    • Hey Dailygazing,

      Thanks for the read!

      Guess you have to put your life in perspective when the gas prices rise; pretty nails or transportation? I know what I’d pick …

      Drive on,
      – M.

Leave a Reply

 
