CC is a big no-no

This title might be a bit confusing to some, but bear with me I will explain, I promise. It seems there aren’t enough classes of cars out there right now, so we are currently in an automotive era in which manufacturers feel the need to invent even more. From the SAV (Sport Activity Vehicle) to the Sport Crossover (versus the normal one) and 2+2 Coupe it all gets a bit confusing — and a bit annoying if I’m to be perfectly honest. A car is a car, just as a truck is a truck and an SUV is an SUV (though I do have one friend who would beg to differ as everything is a truck to her no matter the size, drivetrain or chassis).

However, the latest from Nissan truly does deserve it’s own strange moniker, because there is no other class or market segment in which it fits. It is unique amongst it’s vehicular brethren — and I’m not so sure that’s a good idea.

The creation I speak of is the Nissan Murano CC. No, that’s not a clarification on the copyright of the Murano name, that is an acronym for CrossCabriolet.

Yes, you read correctly: Crossover. Convertible.

An SUV of sorts that drops its top.

Now, before you all dissolve into fits of laughter behind your keyboards, let me bring up the positives and try and explain why Nissan did what they did (because God knows the first question everyone asked them was: WHY?).

Nissan decided to answer a calling that plagues all convertible models: space. Convertibles have notoriously useless trunks and even more useless backseats, so Nissan chose to “fix” that problem simply by chopping the room off one of their larger vehicles.

And that’s where it all goes wrong.

Convertibles are attractive and fun to drive because of their notoriously small design. They are low-slung, hug the road, ride stiff and they’re meant to feel as if you are inches off the road with very little trailing behind, in front or beside you. They are small and useless for a reason; because they are driver cars. With the exception of the VW Eos and the Volvo C90, most convertibles are pretty compact for a reason.

The Nissan Murano CC looks like a turtle that’s lost its shell. I don’t even know how to put into words how I truly feel about it because no words seem sufficient. So, I’ll leave the final decision on the matter up to you. And maybe my opinions will change once I get behind the wheel of this melange of models, but I have a hard time believing that.

As my title says; CC is a big no-no for me.

Drive on,
– M.

~ by drivingmsmiranda on March 24, 2011.

3 Responses to “CC is a big no-no”

  1. Yo Miranda!

    Two question…

    Could it be any less attractive? And is that mint green? Yuck!

    Cheers!
    G-LO

    • Hey G-LO!!!

      Ha! You know, I don’t think it could get any uglier — and for real. If they could have chosen a worse colour for their “launch” model … I think I vomited a bit in my mouth when I first saw it.

      But like I said, maybe it drives really, really well ……………………………………..

      Drive on,
      – M.

  2. Well, hard to add anything to this on the aesthetics side of the equation, you just about nsiled it. Especially the turtle bit!
    I do applaud Nissan for daring to be different in the last few years, even if that means the results have sometimes bordered on the bizarre. And someone out there will buy this thing simply because – for better or worse – it screams Look At Me.
    However, as for convertibles being small by nature, this wasn’t always so.
    Up until the mid ’70s, there were tons of full size cars available in droptop form. When I was a kid (yes, before the dinosaurs) the world was awash in topless Ford Galaxies and Chevy Impalas, even up here in the Great White North.
    Why did they disappear? Federal regs. Sometime around 1975 the U.S. DOT started seriously ramping up their standards for rollover protection, and since the typical Cadillac buyer wasn’t keen on having a roll bar over the back seat of his ragtop Eldorado the segment met with a very quick demise. So with the exception of a few Benzes and Bentleys, there really hasn’t been anything since.
    But I’m not sure I believe Nissan’s logic that the only way to get space back into open air motoring is to take the Sawsall to an SUV or Crossover, or whatever we’re calling them this week.
    A Camry Solara – although hardly exciting – surely offers at least as much room as this, um, thing, and is certainly more pleasnt to look at.

Leave a Reply

 
