The fine art of pumping gas

Credit: The Tire Zoo/Flickr.com

I’m not sure if this will come off as a rant or not, but tell me, oh faithful reader; how hard is it to pump gas into your car properly?

Is it really as difficult as it seems to be?

This was brought to my attention this afternoon as I cruised down the highway in my bright blue MINI Countryman (yes, another one — bliss!). In front of me was an ’06 Nissan Altima. Everything looked to be normal, save for the fuel cap dangling down the side and the gas door slightly ajar. As I followed said Nissan I began to wonder; how does one go about doing such a thing?

As I was leaving BMW a warning light went off in the MINI — the trunk was slightly ajar. Now, it wasn’t wide open, but it wasn’t completely shut. I could have driven all the way to work with it “open” without much harm. But I chose to get out and close it properly. For my own sanity and for the health of the car.

It seems to me that someone like Ms. Dangling Gas Cap (because, sadly, it was a woman driver) has given up on life.

There’s no way you can’t see you gas tank/dangling gas cap/open gas door in your side mirror. The tank is off the side of the car. I’ll give the benefit of the doubt to anyone driving an old-school ride that sports the fuel tank opening over the rear bumper or anywhere away from the driver’s eyes.

However, anyone with a modern car has no excuse. Nada. Nothing. Not allowed to pull such a dweeb move.

It’s really not that hard. How is it that you “forget” to screw the cap in? Are you in such a horrible rush that you just have enough time to throw the fuel pump back on its holder, jump into the driver’s seat and squeel out of the gas station like a bat out of hell?

Last I checked, no one in that much of a hurry is going to take the time to pull over for gas.

And it’s not like Ms. Dangling Gas Cap is an anomaly. Far from it. I can usually count at least 5 or 6 drivers who’ve left their gas doors open, their fuel caps dangling or both on my daily commute to work.

Maybe Ford truly is on to something with their capless fuel tanks. There’s no cap to dislodge and replace, just a self-sealing closing that moves out of the way when you insert the fuel pistol and pops back into place when you remove it.

At least it means people will only be driving around with their fuel doors open …

It just kind of amazed me that someone could be so oblivious to their surroundings. I mean, that means Ms. Dangling Gas Cap didn’t check her mirrors at all from the time she pulled away from the gas station to getting on the on-ramp to the highway.

That’s scary.

I know putting gas in a car is a bit annoying and stupidly expensive now; but last I checked it wasn’t rocket science.

Or is it?

Drive on,
– M.

~ by drivingmsmiranda on March 14, 2011.

3 Responses to “The fine art of pumping gas”

  1. Maybe they just forgot? My life seems so hectic sometimes that when you repeat an action so many times that you forget to actually do it doesn’t seem like such a stretch.

    I have driven off with the tailgate open and pulled out without the kids strapped in and once I drove from the supermarket with my trolley of groceries standing forlornly in the carpark behind me…

    I saw a car the other day with a handbag on the roof!

    • Hey MrShev,

      We definitely live in a society where we have way too much on our minds! However, an open gas tank is at least visible once the mistake has been made. As in, pull over befor you get on the highway, etc., and close your tank! If nothing else to stop the error in your car’s computer from air getting into your gas tank!

      As for the grocery cart — I’ll ashamedly admit that I’ve done that too. I’ve also walked away from a push-start car to go shopping and left the car RUNNING. I came back about 25 minutes later and was like … um, why is my car still on? 🙂

      So, even someone as perfect as yours truly is not without faults apparently. 😉 Hehehe

      Thanks for the read as always!

      Drive on,
      – M.

  2. i like it The fine calling of pumping gas « Driving MsMiranda's Blog now im your rss reader

Leave a Reply

 
