Ruining that new-car experience

Because I never showed you the Audi TTS I had this summer

I had an interesting discussion with my husband (who will be referred to as C from now on, oh faithful reader) on the car ride home the other night — and no, it’s not as exciting as it could have been.

C brought up a very valid and potentially worrying point: My uber-exciting pastime has forever ruined our future new-car experiences.

Let me explain: If you hadn’t realized already, I get a new car every week. Mondays are my “change” days (which also mean they are not only the worst day of the week, but also the most stressful and usually have me running around Montreal like a chicken with my head cut off trying to coordinate car pickups/drop-offs as well as getting to work on time), and I bring home that new car every Monday night (sometimes Tuesday morning if I just can’t wrap my head around a good Monday plan). These “new cars” really are new. They are usually brand new models (2011s as of right now) and I am, blissfully, often the first in a long line-up of auto journalists to test them.

It’s exciting to bring home a new car on a weekly basis. But C is right, it’s lost its luster, and that’s a bit sad.

Remember the last time you bought yourself a new car? Remember that feeling? Well, C and I will never have that again because we’re become desensitized. Now when I bring home a new car it’s often not about the discovery or the bond of driver and vehicle, it’s more about the dissection of the car, the comparison and often the criticism.

I’m not there to fall in love with it, despite it being “my” new car for the week.

On Monday evenings the first thing of out C’s mouth when I walk through the front door is usually, “So?” Like he’s asking me to criticize the car I’ve just pulled up in. And often I do without even thinking. We’re immediately looking for ways in which the cars can improve or serve us better.

And I guess that’s a good thing considering what my line of work entails (reviewing vehicles for consumers so they know what they’re getting themselves into). But sometimes I wish I could really just enoy “my” new car for the week the way I enjoyed my Subaru the first week I had it.

And we’ve seen it all. Nothing is shocking anymore. We don’t get excited about new features, cool gadgets or special onboard computer trickery. Instead, we tend to get a bit aggravated by all the gizmos. And I wish I didn’t! I want to enjoy the Infiniti FX50s lane departure warning and front crash warning and parking sensors, I really do. But I don’t. I get annoyed when I can’t easily find an AUX port, and if a car isn’t equipped with satellite radio watch out. Extras don’t excite me any longer — they are the norm.

After C made his emphatic statement we both sat in silence for a moment, no doubt imagining the day we do purchase our next new car: getting in the car at the dealer, looking at one another and shrugging as we drive off thinking about what I’ll be driving the following week instead of enjoying our new vehicle.

Drive on,
– M.

~ by drivingmsmiranda on November 24, 2010.

One Response to “Ruining that new-car experience”

  1. […] Glucker/Flickr.com OK, so it’s missing one “golden” ring, but close enough. The Audi R8 is a stunning car inside and out. A technological feat, Audi truly outdid themselves with this […]

Leave a Reply

 
