If only my driveway looked like this all the time…

So, this week I feel like a real pampered housewife — and I like it. Forget the constant cleaning of puke (from the cats, not a baby), the never-ending pile of dishes in the kitchen and the need to snoop for neighbourhood gossip all the time; I love the cars a pampered housewife gets to drive.

On Monday I picked up my practical pampered-housewife ride, the brand new BMW X5 xDrive35i. First off, let me say this: Why in God’s name did BMW feel the need to extend their model names?! I loved the simplicity of their models over other German automakers who shall remain anonymous Mercedes.

Big, roomy and luxurious, the X5 is clearly my pick-up-groceries-take-friends-to-the-cottage-and-cats-to-the-vet ride. And I love it. I have a soft spot for BMW (if you hadn’t already noticed, oh faithful reader) and the new X5 is no disappointment from the Bavarian giant. Grand and luxurious, some might think the X6 has taken some of the grandeur away from the X5, but this model clearly shows this SAV (Sports Activity Vehicle) is here to stay and better than ever (and it doesn’t look like a transvestite alien, which is a definite step up from the tranny X6).

Then, tonight, I collected my second choice of vehicle. My fancier, garden-party car that’s sleek and sophisticated with a bit of bite under the bulging hood.

The 2011 Jaguar XJL Supercharged.

I am in awe of this car. It’s big, bold and beautiful in every sense of the word. I am not a big-car lover (save for the BMW 7 Series). But there’s something about a big Jaguar that gets me weak in the knees and wanting more — so much more.

I’ve only spent a short time behind the wheel of the XJL SUpercharged, but I can already tell that it is a phenomenal vehicle and one that I would definitely purchase when I become a pampered, rich housewife (someone might want to let my husband know this).

And now I think I understand the true angst of the rich housewife.

Which car do I choose in the morning?

Drive on,
– M.

~ by drivingmsmiranda on July 28, 2010.

3 Responses to “If only my driveway looked like this all the time…”

  1. I drove a Jag once, an X-Type, and although it had an undeniably sweet engine and went like a rocket (I got it up to 140mph on a UK motorway – oops. It was still eager to go faster) and was quiet and well finished…it cornered like a boat and understeered massively, giving me no confidence in it at all.

    I found it quite cramped inside (i’m only 6’2”) and all that wood and leather a bit…old fashioned. Would like to see more picture of the XJ.

  2. I am in sales at a Jaguar Dealership in Atlanta, GA and I have spent quite some time behind the wheel of the 2011 XJ. I really enjoy your comments and criticisms and I can’t wait for your input on Jaguar’s new flagship sedan. Especially your opinions on the Virtual Display Gauges, Active Seatbelts (give you a tug when you activate Dynamic Mode), and the overall styling of the car (both interior and exterior).

    • Hi David,

      Thanks so much for the read!

      I am in love with the XJL Supercharged. Really and truly. And after having the Porsche Panamera just a few weeks ago, I see why they are compared. While they are similar, they are also quite different, but I like the differences in the Jag.

      There’s something about Jaguar that always tickled my fancy. I’ll be sure to post my video on here as soon as it’s up. šŸ™‚

      Drive on,
      – M.

Leave a Reply

 
