What Drives MsMiranda?

In light of my recent popularity on WordPress.com’s Freshly Pressed homepage, I thought I’d let my brand new readers know a little bit more about me.

I have to say, the quadruple-digit page hits and triple-digit comments are kind of freaking me out. But I’m happy to have you all here, oh faithful readers!

Driving the SLR in Hawaii

Sometimes I find it amusing, and almost fun, to tell people what I do for a living. I’m usually met with shocked looks, a few laughs and even a few, “get outta here” comments. But it’s true; I drive cars and write about them. From Nissan Cubes right up to Lamborghini Gallardos, I drive them — and I love it.

From as far back as I can remember, I used to tell my Mum I wanted a little red sports car when I grew up. Forget a white, poofy wedding dress (which I really didn’t have, by the way) or a mansion on the hills by the ocean; I just wanted a fast, little, brightly coloured car. Clearly my priorities were already in order.

Cars drive me; they are my passion, my inspiration. I love the sound of a deep, guttural exhaust; the high-pitched whine of a supercharger and the fluttering tweets of a turbo — really, there’s nothing better.

Don’t believe me? I dare you to Google my name, Miranda Lightstone, and see what comes up. Forget the social media sites and dig a little deeper. I’ve been writing about cars for the better part of 5 years now, and I’m not tired of it yet. Everything about the automobile fascinates me. And while I intend on expanding my horizons (travel writing has piqued my interest), cars will always be my staple, my home base.

I don’t need to wax on about how writing is my talent and cars my passion and how lucky I am to combine the two — bleh. You get the picture, I don’t need to paint it for you again. You’re all intelligent human beings — that’s why you read my blogs, articles, reviews and random ramblings.

So remember: Life is short, so drive it fast and drive it safe.

Drive on,
– M.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

~ by drivingmsmiranda on July 22, 2010.

7 Responses to “What Drives MsMiranda?”

  1. Congrats! It’s rare that someone gets to actually do something they love and make a living at it. Keep up the good work!
    And by the way, I am soooooooooooo jealous!

    Saw an F430 Spyder in the REI parking lot last night while picking up my bicycle. Beautiful! Have you driven one of those? 🙂

    • Hey G-LO,

      Thanks so much for the read!

      I definitely know how lucky I am! I am thankful every day as I get into a different car. 🙂

      Actually, I have driven the F430, not the Spyder though. And somehow I wasn’t impressed! I was on normal streets, not a track, and I just found it really jerky and undrivable. The Lamborghini Gallardo, on the other hand, performed beautifully under the same conditions!

      Hope you check back soon!

      Drive on,
      – M.

  2. The Gallardo is quite lovely as well, but my heart has been pumping Ferrari red since I was a boy. My brain on the other hand craves a Porsche Cayman or a Nissan GT-R, probably because it thinks that they would be less of a nightmare to own. Sadly, the odds of me ever driving any of these cars is quite slim (my almost 6 year old son said that he’ll one day let me drive his Ferrari… if I’m still alive. True story). Maybe Honda will get it’s act together and deliver a practical and fun family car. Love my 05 Accord sedan, but it could use a bit more HP.

    G-LO
    http://boozedancing.wordpress.com

    • Hey G-LO,

      It’s funny how people have attachments to Ferrari … I know most of my friends do as well! There was just something … off about it. And the Gallardo didn’t have that!

      Never give up hope of owning one of your dream vehicles! I am of the mind that if you truly believe you will one day drive it, then you will! Before I really started all of this test-drive stuff, I used to sit around and think about the day I’d get to drive Porsches and Lambos and Ferraris … and then once I DID start testing (and nothing spectacular, VWs and Kias and Nissans) I kept saying that one day I WOULD drive an SLR McLaren.

      And a few years after I started my career, I was driving an SLR in Hawaii.

      It’s funny how things work out. 🙂 So keep dreaming (and I mean that in a good way!).

      Drive on,
      – M.

      • Yo Miranda!

        Thanks for the words of encouragement! The dream has never died. That’s why I still go to car shows, watch auto races, etc.. Cause you just never know. 🙂

        Cheers!

        G-LO

  3. This is a really great website. The layout and design is very easy to navigate and the info is superb. Keep up the good work!!!!

Leave a Reply

 
