Driving music

More than any other season, summer is the time of year when driving music is probably one of the more important elements of driving. Once you’ve made sure the car is full of gas, that you’ve got your shades and an iced Timmies, the next thing on your check list is a good mix CD (welcome to the ’90s) or more appropriately a fully loaded iPod or iPhone with an auxiliary or USB connector.

Music in a car can make or break a good jaunt behind the wheel. Where you’re going, what you’re driving and what the weather is like all has an effect on the tunes you choose to crank when you’re driving — at least it does for me.

For example; my week in the Porsche Panamera Turbo was accompanied by a soundtrack of various R&B tunes as well as Katy Perry’s “California Gurls” more often then I’d like to admit. The 35+ degree weather and bright sunshine is mostly to blame for that one.

When I had the new 5.0-litre Mustang I kept Zeppelin, Hendrix and Matthew Good on the stereo at all times.

And now that I’m in a sport package Mazda3 this week, I’ve been mixing it up with dance music and a bit of R&B here and there.

Music in the car can really influence the way you drive too. There are certain songs that just make me want to zip through traffic like an F1 driver, while other songs just kind of mellow me out.

There’s also a specific soundtrack I use for traffic. I actually have a playlist in my iPod labeled “traffic.” I know how irritating it can be to sit in endless traffic, so I choose to stop myself from feeling blah before it starts with uplifting music that’s both calming and fun to listen to. That list consists of Brooke Fraser and Frou Frou — good songs to sing along to (so I can scream at the top of my lungs, with the windows up of course, to stop myself from snoozing at the wheel and to stop myself from wanting to murder everyone around me).

For open country roads (like the ones leading to my parent’s place) one song in particular has taken the cake as my open-road song this summer. Have a listen, it’s a fantastically motivating song that just really ramps you up and makes you feel like you just want to explode with excitement (or speed).

Now, I don’t always have music blaring. If I happen to be driving a car with an exhaust note that’s music to my ears, I keep the radio off. However, more often than not, you’ll find me with the appropriate soundtrack for the car I’m driving blasting through the speakers as I cruise down the road.

Do you, oh faithful reader, have specific driving music you love to have on while you’re behind the wheel? Does it change from season to season or depending on the occasion you’re driving to?

Drive on,
– M.

~ by drivingmsmiranda on July 15, 2010.

5 Responses to “Driving music”

  1. This is a very sexy look, the interior of a Porsche. The only car I lust after. Envious, just a litt.e

    • Hey Brian!

      Thanks for the read! And I am SO sorry our Skype date never worked out. We have to reschedule. I’m a bit more organized now … I was pretty all over the place when I first left AskMen, so we have to reschedule! 🙂

      Yes, the interior of the Porsche is a thing of beauty, and one I’m missing dearly as I drive my Nissan Altima tester this week. *sigh*

      Drive on,
      – M.

  2. No worries. No time like the present (or immediate future). Love the post on driving manual as well. I miss having one and my wife can’t (won’t) drive a stick.

  3. Seeing that we already happen to be discussing points regarding Driving music Driving MsMiranda's Blog, There are many ways gas mileage may be improved. Car owners should be responsible if they want to save on gas and money. It does not require big sacrifices to improve your vehicle’s gas mileage. All it takes is a little responsibility and proper care of the car. These simple ways can each help improve gas mileage a bit but when done regularly and in combination will help save a great deal of money.

  4. As we are all discussing Driving music Driving MsMiranda's Blog, There are many ways gas mileage may be improved. Car owners should be responsible if they want to save on gas and money. It does not require big sacrifices to improve your vehicle’s gas mileage. All it takes is a little responsibility and proper care of the car. These simple ways can each help improve gas mileage a bit but when done regularly and in combination will help save a great deal of money.

Leave a Reply

 
