Why is it OK for them?

Credit: Humanoide/Flickr.com

Every now and then, I witness something on the road that really irks me. I’m a pretty calm person (as most of my friends and family can attest to), but when something really rubs me the wrong way, I tend to go off on little rants and tantrums (read: Clearly The Message Didn’t Sink In). Herein lies one of those tantrums (you have been warned, oh faithful reader).

So, this morning I’m on my way downtown, cruising through traffic in my Porsche Panamera Turbo no less, and suddenly everyone slams on their brakes for no apparent reason — until I spot a row of highway patrol police (called the Sûreté du Québec or SQ here in Quebec) in the shoulder, just sitting there. None of them have their lights on, but everyone panics when they see police officers on the road, naturally.

I slow down like everyone else and keep my eye on the row of piggies in my rearview mirror. As I’m watching, one of the SQ cars pulls out randomly into traffic, causing cars to slam on their brakes. He didn’t signal.

Then he swept over into the next lane, sans signal. He then proceeded to cut off 3 more cars before he finally arrived behind an unassuming white Honda Civic where he sat, right on the car’s bumper for a few minutes before turning on his lights and signaling for the Civic to pull over.

Now, I have no qualms about the police pulling someone over for doing something illegal — I’m assuming Civic was on his cell phone or didn’t have his seat belt on, because he definitely wasn’t speeding, none of the cars on the road were.

What I do have a problem with is how police officers drive.

I have a friend who’s been through the police academy, so I know they go through various driving courses from how to stop a runaway car with the nudge of a car nose on a trunk to evasive, high-speed maneuvering. So, why is it that cops can’t drive like regular human beings when they are in normal situations?

I can’t tell you how many times I’ve seen a cop change lanes without a signal; how many times I’ve seen a cop pull out into oncoming traffic like he’s the end all and be all of every car on the road because he knows everyone will slam on their brakes for him. It makes me ill.

Oh, and I keep saying “him” when I reference the po-po, but I’m not sexist. I know there are female police officers (one gave me a speeding ticket once). I’m just too lazy to add a slash and another word. Sorry, it’s hot in Montreal and I’m drained.

Police officers, the SQ in particular, are there to keep us safe on the road. So, why can’t they lead by example and practice what they preach?

I’ve also seen cops blow through red lights and stop signs with their sirens going, only to turn them off as soon as they got through the intersection; they didn’t want to wait at the light.

Abusing power much?

I have total and utter respect for the boys in blue (or khaki as is the case with the SQ), but my respect slips a little every time I see them act the way they did this morning.

Just because they can’t give themselves a ticket doesn’t give them the right to drive however the hell they want.

Drive on,
– M.

~ by drivingmsmiranda on July 8, 2010.

2 Responses to “Why is it OK for them?”

  1. Preach it, sister 😀

Leave a Reply

 
