Women behind the wheel

Women behind the wheel get a bad wrap. I know it’s true because I complain about them even though I am one. I’m the first to roll my eyes at a woman who can’t parallel park or change lanes or signal properly or drive at all. And, yes, I know I am a woman behind the wheel — but I’m different, kind of.

Women get a bad rep when it comes to driving for a number of reasons: First of all we tend to not be that aggressive. We hesitate, we wait and we act like we’re confused when really we are just trying to be polite and considerate for others on the road. Or we’re afraid. I don’t know how many times I’ve been in the car with my Mum and actually had to reach over and honk her horn when she’s been cut off by someone and she’s saying sorry for it. Ridiculous.

Women are also much less confident behind the wheel. We can be intimidated by the cars we drive (getting behind the wheel of our husband’s pickups and sports cars can be a scary thing for some women).

And sometimes you’ll find a woman who just doesn’t understand her vehicle. She doesn’t know how all the technology works behind the wheel or she’s just not dept at multitasking and driving is just a disaster.

These are all reasons why women behind the wheel get a bad rep.

However, I’m here to tell you that it’s not just a boy’s game anymore.

While I was on my way downtown today I spotted a brand new, bright white Nissan 370Z. It looked hot rolling down the highway with dual exhaust pipes poking out of the rear bumper, a small and sexy rear spoiler jutting out of the trunk and a low stance. I sped up to pull along side the 370Z expecting to see a young guy behind the wheel. I was pleasantly surprised to see a very attractive woman driving the car with a look in her eyes that told me this was her car.

She looked over at me in my BMW and for a moment we shared a bit of shock at seeing one another, then we both smiled and with a nod of her head she popped it down a gear and took off.

That little encounter left a grin on my face, and I wish I had encounters like that more often. Usually, when I spot a woman behind the wheel she’s white-knuckled, doesn’t care one bit or is just plain annoyed by the whole idea of driving. Women I see behind the wheel aren’t enamored with their cars, they don’t feel a connection with them or the road.

And therein lies the problem.

I think the real women get a bad reputation behind the wheel because the general public thinks they don’t care. And in most cases I think that’s true. And yet, I think it’s true because the general public thinks that. Does that make any sense, oh faithful reader?

I don’t want to try and change everyone’s mind and defend women as good drivers, because from what I’ve seen; they generally aren’t (sorry Mum).

But, what I do want everyone to understand is that there are a select group of women out there who really can drive, and they love to drive.

So don’t look so shocked (like I did when I spotted the driver of the 370Z) when you see a beautiful woman behind the wheel of a rockin’ vehicle. She might even flash you a smile before she leaves you in a cloud of exhaust fumes.

Drive on,
– M.

~ by drivingmsmiranda on June 11, 2010.

8 Responses to “Women behind the wheel”

  1. I don’t think there’s nothing sexier than a women driving her own nice car. I have also been pleasantly surprised a couple of times expecting to see a men behind the wheel but it was actually a women and you can tell if it’s her car or not most of the time.

    It’s going to take a while before this bad perception of women behind the wheel fades away I think. There’s always one to prove us right.

  2. Ooh great post! You don’t know how many times I’ll drive on the passenger side of my dad’s or guy friend’s car and hear them criticize someone’s driving with “I bet it’s a woman.” And I hate that more often than not it is. But here’s to those awesome women out there who are doing their thing and showing the boys up- like you!

  3. Great blog! I drive an ’05 350Z and heart everything about it! I would love to upgrade to the 370 and then meet you on the road πŸ™‚

    • Hey Autumn,

      That’s awesome! I love to hear that!

      The 370 is fabulous – loved everything about it. Make the upgrade and just tell me where and when and I’ll be there! πŸ˜‰

      Drive on,
      – M.

  4. […] Thank goodness I have my manual Subie WRX to keep me from being just another woman behind the wheel. […]

  5. That is so awesome. My hubby says I’m too aggressive (hello? fast car! I take advantage. And I LOVE to drive). But he’ll be the first to also make those comments about women drivers. Make up your mind dude! You get timid,slow, and probably a dumb fender bender- or you get aggressive, quick, and safe (and fun). Ya just can’t have both.

  6. […] isn’t the first time I’ve visited the topic of women behind the wheel, but I promise I’m going to spin a different angle here, oh faithful reader (just to spice […]

  7. Couldn’t agree with you more on this one. I once got a ride home in my chemistry teacher’s car on having missed my bus. She is the most nervous driver I have ever sat next to. It was really funny.
    Where I live every once in a while you do see women (usually young) behind the wheel of a fast car driving really aggressively and it is indeed an attractive site. The best out of such experiences for me was watching a woman overtake my dad in her Dodge Challenger (orange) while I sat next to him, grinning.

Leave a Reply

 
