Some people like to people watch

But, I like to car watch. I know, shocking.

And the best time to car watch in my lovely city of Montreal is this weekend. F1 has returned to our city after a one-year hiatus. Last June was a bleak, sad time for us Montrealers, but this year the summer is off to a swinging high-revving start. Formula One hits the Circuit Villeneuve this weekend, and all the auto-heads are flocking to the city.

On my way into down this morning I had the good fortune of spotting an uber clean Countache, two Ferrari Californias, one mean looking Bentley Continental GT Speed and a Maranello. Besides the Countache that was, obviously, fire-engine red the rest were a dull silver/grey, and it got me thinking.

If you’re going to purchase a Ferrari or a Lambo or a Bentley, wouldn’t you want to go all-out? If it were me (and I pray one day it is), I’d be slapping down the cash for a bright orange Lamborghini Gallardo Superleggera — no questions asked. I might toy with the idea of neon green, but I’m pretty sold on the orange. And I wouldn’t do it just because its a flashy car, I’d do it because there are few cars that can pull it off — you wouldn’t by a Hyundai Elantra in burnt orange, now would you?

These are, quite obviously, just my early morning Friday musings, but I think they have some merit.

If you were in the market for a supercar, would you buy it in uber dull silver/grey? Be honest now.

I’ll be checking back in throughout the week/weekend with F1 updates, awesome car sightings and hopefully a few video links and other fun stuff.

Drive on,
– M.

~ by drivingmsmiranda on June 9, 2010.

3 Responses to “Some people like to people watch”

  1. i would get an electric blue mini!!! lol

  2. I’m not the kind of person who like to steer the attention toward me so I would still opt for a more classic color (Black, Grey, dark, …). You could argue that if I had a Lambo or a Ferrari it wouldn’t be the best choice to NOT make head turns… true but I just want to have a great car, no matter what others think of it.

    Right now I would buy a Mercedes SLS AMG or an Audi R8. I guess those are more affordable than Lambos, Ferraris and Bentleys?

    • Hey Jay,

      Thanks for the read! And I totally get the need for a “classic” look when it comes to some of the flashier cars, but at the same time, if the car can pull off the look then why not?! 🙂

      I actually just saw a bright blue R8 and loved it. I used to think the car looked best in plain white, but after spotting it in blue I definitely changed my mind.

      Drive on,
      – M.

Leave a Reply

 
