Time for some road warrior reflections

Alright, I’ve tried my best not to be too wishy-washy and sentimental in this blog, and I think I’ve managed pretty well so far. So, I’m allowing myself this one blog to be the woman that I am and show a bit of emotion.

When I first got into this line of work, I had no idea where it would lead me, or if would lead anywhere at all. All I knew was that I loved cars and I could write. So, why not combine the two? Since my first test drive and review (an ’05-’06 Dodge Caliber R/T) I haven’t looked back — but I have yielded more than I would have liked.

I’ve been doing this for the better part of 5 years now, and I admit I still feel like a rookie. And not because I don’t know what I’m talking about, but because the game is constantly changing. Just when I think I’ve broken through and really “made it” in the auto journalism world, something major changes (i.e., video reviews online).

So, I restart again and build my way up to credible again — which is just what I’m doing in the video realm now. For sure the videos are far from perfect, but they can only get better from here, right?

Along with the automotive journalism thing is my venture into the world of freelancing. I was a full-time editor until about 3 months ago. Something wasn’t sitting right with me and the company, so I’m no longer with them. It’s for the best. At the time, I felt like it was the end of the world; like I wasn’t worth anything; like I was a failure at everything (editing and writing). And it had been so long since I’d actually written (2 times a year for the Gazette was hardly good practice) that I wasn’t sure I could do it at all; let alone to make enough money for my husband and I to not lose our house.

It was a stressful time; and yet that stress lasted for nearly a week. As a freelancer I am calmer now than I ever was a full-time worker. The work environment I came from was so volatile and stressful, I didn’t understand the negative effects it was having on my physical and mental health until I left. I was a whole new person even days after I left, and it felt glorious.

Since then, I’ve only been looking ahead. That’s what you have to do when you’re driving, and so that’s what I’ll do in life.

I’m constantly learning, exploring and growing in this industry and I love it. Everyday offers something new, something exciting and something I can use to better myself and my career — something I never had in the office.

Freelance isn’t for everyone. Definitely not, but if you’re in the right field and you have a niche (which I think I do) then it might just work. And if you’re willing to grow and change with the industry you’ve chosen then you can be sure you’ll be around for awhile too (which is always important).

I think I’m almost done my emotional reflections, oh faithful reader, and I want to thank you all for being patient enough for all of this and indulging my more feminine side (because God knows being around cars all day isn’t exactly girlie). And without all of you, I wouldn’t have the success I do so thank you for that too. Having your support, comments, criticisms, it all means the world to me and it makes me a better, stronger, more competent auto journalist.

So thank-you, merci, grazi and gracias.

Drive on,
– M.

~ by drivingmsmiranda on June 2, 2010.

6 Responses to “Time for some road warrior reflections”

  1. love it and proud of you

  2. Get a good grip on the steering wheel, take a deep breath, focus on the road ahead, and steadily excellerate….you’re going to the top of that mountain! Just use prudence when over taking to get there!
    Love,
    Your ever very proud, Mum

  3. Good job, Miranda. And, good advice!

Leave a Reply

 
